In Brisbane, as a tourist.

August 14, 2009

Today was a frustrating day… Largely due to the rent being due and me being a computer noob. Everything worked out in the end but it was a real close shave. Though I really wonder if Fiona will really evict us if I pay late – “delays are not tolerated!”… Hmm.

But it turned good because Alvin cooked Pad Thai which I wanted to eat since the day he bought the tao gei (beansprouts). I finally vaccuumed my room and semi-cleared my desk. Plus tomorrow, the plumber is coming so I am clinging onto the hope that he fixes the shower leak once and for all. :) and I talked to Serkee after so long and had quite a good time. Its nice to see time slowly healing the wounds. :)

Anyway, here are the last of the photos I have compiled… The next update would be in quite awhile because I really need to catch up on tutorials…

Photobucket

I am not saying Australians are lazy… But when I takeaway something and I see the something (still on its plate) shuffed into a paper bag, I really can’t come to other conclusions.

Photobucket

Shop 6, 83-93 Lytton Road
East Brisbane QLD 4169

The best fish and chips in Australia for two years running. Need I say more?

Photobucket

Driving up to Gold Coast with Mama and Geri’s family… Felt like the good old days where we toured together!

Photobucket

Taking a break from retail therapy! ^^

PhotobucketPhotobucket

Surfer’s Paradise… Not the beach side though.

Photobucket

When its cold outside, its a good time for ice-cream!

Photobucket

Famous surfing hotspot! Spot the waves!!! And its continuous!!!

Photobucket

The first time I went without the mother in tow.. We went to town to pick up household items and Alvin took us to Hanaichi, the first conveyor belt sushi shop in Brisbane was it?

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Touring with Geri and family again, we visited Mount Tamborine more for the little hand-made shops then for wildlife appreciation. :P

Photobucket

Best because it is the only one???

Photobucket

Outdoor museum cum old folks home.. It was closed when we reached though. Darn! I thought I could ride a horse. Haha..

Photobucket

Owner: “I didn’t want to compete with the thousands who claim to be the best.”

Made out of pure chocolate and melted in front of us. No milk, no creamer, just pure sinful molten chocolate! It was uber heaty though…

Photobucket

Bought some hand-made stuff which I wouldn’t be able to find elsewhere. :)

The sparkly nail clipper was just to be whimsical… The handbag hanger “bling” is for my most expensive bag to date. Hehe! “Brag” stuff are popular here… Basically they are just day-to-day items with ample room for photos. :) hand-wooven keyrings for Michelle and Cheeleng. I couldn’t find X for ‘Xueqin’ so she will just have to make do with her christian name. Lalala~

Photobucket

We took the CityCat to South Bank for Harry Potter and the Half Blood prince! We caught it on the largest 25 metre widescreen! It was fab! Though the show was pretty draggy, I was very fascinated by the free seating system where people queue and mad rush for seats with ushers using loud hailers to guide people along. Haha!

Photobucket

Dinner was Japanese! Didn’t get to sit at the sushi bar this time round. But got to sit there when Cheeleng, Alvin and I went to catch G.I. Joe last week. Yum!

Photobucket

I heart Japanese cuisine!

Photobucket

Introducing my new baby after the old one made me so pissed I scared mommy dearest. I have the same phone as Geri… Pity the pink one ran out though. :(

Photobucket
Photobucket

Met up with Aunty Shirley for dinner at the Brisbane’s first hotel, Breakfast Creek Hotel, established since 1889! Lucky Michael drove me down or I would have gotten hopelessly lost. He got lost too but at least we were warm and toasty in the car.

Photobucket

Waiting at the airport for the aeroplane…

Photobucket

When Mama left, I felt helpless. Although I was relishing the new-found freedom, it was scary to not know how to get back to the city. When I found my way there, I didn’t know how to go home. I really am hopeless!!! Then Alvin had to come pick me… Actually, after so long, I still don’t think I know my way to the bus stop to go home. :(

Photobucket

There, I am now a poor international student. Welcome to my world!

Leave a Reply

