Seaworld and Alvin’s 24th

December 15, 2009

The final week in Australia was a busy busy week with all the packing, washing, cleaning and touring we did. Of course there are no pictures of me in spectacles, with my hair up, scrubbing the toilets looking like a haggled auntie. Primarily because I didn’t scrub toilets and neither did I have my hair up. But you get the point.

Photos of our trip to Gold Coast again.

Photobucket

Lovely 5-star hotel room… :) a far cry from the backpackers motel we stayed in the last time.

Photobucket

After depositing our bags, hungry us headed out to the beachfront for lunch of fish and chips. :)

Had a relaxing first day walking around Surfers Paradise and went back to the hotel to retire early.

Photobucket

Woke up to a scrumptious buffet breakfast and had alot of fun with the instant pancake machine…

Photobucket

As its all girls, we headed for a day of shopping at the outlet shops of Habourtown.

Photobucket

We went mad. Really mad. I felt so bad about my purchases when the numbers on my calculator kept growing. Though I did get a couple of cheap, bargain-bin finds for myself, I splurged on Tommy Hilfiger for daddy, Fossil for Zest, and many Adidas barangs for the brother.

What?! Its hard to shop for men so when you see something that makes you go “hmm, I think he could like/need/want this” its really hard to say no.

Especially when I called daddy all the way to Abu Dhabi and started prattling on how perfect the shirt I got would be when he comes back for Chinese New Year only to realise I have been screaming down the phone for the past minute to his very patient friend who kept repeating that my daddy was driving and would call me back later. Boo!

Photobucket

Returned to the room early that night to do up a scrapbook for Alvin’s 24th birthday and also to avoid the crazy Schoolies going on at the beach. It was havoc! Binge drinking by 17 year olds on this scale should so not be allowed what more made official by the government and to actually last a whole week!

Photobucket

The whole broadbeach was covered by all these underdressed youths who danced, threw underwear at passer-bys and went around high-fiving strangers. We were so afraid of getting smashed by a glass bottle by some random racist teenager that we had Hungry Jacks takeaway back safe in the hotel room.

Photobucket

The next day we headed to Seaworld!!!!

Photobucket

Oooh fishy in tank, looking at me!

Photobucket

Miniature great whites in a massive, hugeeee tank! I didn’t really dare to go near the glass in case it broke (like in the movie Jaws). 0.0

Photobucket

Tamer sea mammals. DOLPHINS! By then, Alvin the birthday boy had joined us.

Photobucket

So cute!! The keepers should have made the dolphins do tricks like jump through hoops and balance balls.

Photobucket

Just like the sealion did… Smart doggy. Heh.

Photobucket

There was supposed to be a whole host of “touchable” sea creatures for us to play with but unfortunately it was dominated by stingrays. BBQ cravings anyone?

Photobucket

Movie screening of the research and rescue arm of Seaworld. Pretty gory and bloody scenes they showed. :(

Photobucket

Even cuter still!!!! :D

Photobucket

In the bottom left picture, the penguin was standing right next to the water sprinklers. And unlike the others who were so hot they just flopped around on the sand, I think that was a clever move.

Photobucket

Kiddy corner with my favourite childhood cartoon characters. The bright colours just makes you want to smile.

Photobucket

Giddy-up giddy-up!!!

Photobucket

One of the very few adult rides.

Photobucket

Everything was so cute!!! But other than a very expensive drink I bought because I was so close to drying up, I resisted the temptation pretty well.

Photobucket

Took alot of photos though…

Photobucket

Soon it was time to go home…

Photobucket

Waiting for the train, I saw a funny sign.

Photobucket

It was dark when we reached the city and hungry us settled for this cool restaurant in the middle of Queens Street.

Photobucket

Been hearing rave reviews about Pig ‘N’ Whistle so I finally got to try it out.

This is what we had…

Yee Voon: Tandoori chicken & mango salad ω chili, coriander & mango salsa, roasted cashews and minted yoghurt
Alvin: Middlesbrough ‘Parmo’ chicken schnitzel topped ω béchamel, melting cheddar, chips & salad
Mei Yi: English Fish & Chips ω lemon tartare
Han Hui: Fettuccine King Prawns & Tasmanian scallops ω lime zest, chilli & shallot butter
Me: Roast Pork Loin ω crackling, stuffed with bacon, apricot, spinach, sage & apple brandy sauce
Chee Leng: MSA Angus Giant Rump 400g served ω thick chips & garden salad [18 months old Angus 100% grass fed and aged on the rack]

Full marks for the presentation. Quality wise, for the price I think I can get better.

Photobucket

With the remains of my peas…

Photobucket

Upon reaching home, Alvin got his present. A carton of his favourite IndoMie the scrapbook we made plus a Xbox, an external harddisk, a new digital camera and a double bed. Yah right. Hahaha… :P

Photobucket

We also baked him a cake with the leftover cake mix that none of us wanted to bring home. Heh..

Photobucket

Argh, not enough candles!! But at least genius me managed to conjure up 24 years out of 3 candles. :P

HAPPY BIRTHDAY HOUSEMATE!!!!! YOU BETTER BE MISSING ME!

Leave a Reply

