Kitty Lab – Hello Kitty 35th Anniversary Project

December 23, 2009

Sorry for the really slow update. I have not really been up and out recently but the internet my place is rather shaky so I rather just bum around the whole day doing unproductive this and that than try to frustrate myself with photo uploads.

One of the first places I visited upon touching down in Singapore in November was the Hello Kitty exhibition called Kitty Lab, held at the Expo. I went on the 25th of November which is about a month ago. I am ashamed. :P

Photobucket

The girls for the day were Cher, Loti, Ting and Ying Ying… As there were fixed admission times into the Hall, we hung around the John Little Christmas Sale while waiting for 1pm to come. :)

Photobucket

$19.90 only!!!!! Big toys are getting cheaper…. :D

Photobucket

After what seemed like an eternity, the time came to unleash the child within us.

Photobucket

Got the tickets, collected our KTAs (Kitty DNA) and it was time to GOOOO! :) KTA’s are actually little “DNA machines” for you to input vital statistics like height, eyes, blahblahblah. More about the cutesy genuis of a machine later. :)

Photobucket

Last photo before we enter the play area to be surprised! We thought no cameras were allowed but then the staff kept repeating that it was okay to take a couple of discreet shots provided the “police patrol” did not catch us. It turned out to be perfectly fine to take open shots of anything and everything! :))))

Photobucket

Upon entering the land of Kitty, we were very impressed. All the infrastructure was so uber creative and looked just like any street or building in the city. Everything was designed right down to the smallest detail and running around this dream world was like my childhood fantasy come true!

Photobucket

GUESS WHICH IS MINE???

Oh ya, back to the marvellous KTA. Each of us was given one upon entry and we go about this treasure hunt within the virtual city playing games. Should we win the game, we were given the choice to chose an aspect of our own Hello Kitty, such as the favourite food or best friend. Should you lose however, the choice would be computer generated.

Photobucket

The map, although we didn’t use it much. Each game was housed in a painfully decorated building. All I can say was that no effort was spared to make this truely an experience of a lifetime.

Photobucket

Especially for me since I couldn’t read the signboards. Heh.

Photobucket

Everytime we start a game, the KTA is to be placed on the magnetic scanner platform so recording can occur. Here we go!!!

Photobucket

First stop, beat the clock to choose the perfect ribbon to replace Kitty’s signature red bow.

Photobucket

In a real salon to boot!!!

Photobucket

Next we headed to pinky land to get my Kitty some clothes…

Photobucket

Shake till you pass to win! Love the Gucci inspired wallpaper. :)

Photobucket

And the classic Chanel inspired bag…. Ooooh!

Photobucket

Then its time to get educated… I want to go to this school too! I bet the uniforms are really adorable too.

Photobucket

Taking photos is fun!

Photobucket

Strawberry hospital makes jabs friendlier! Hahahaha…

Photobucket

I forgot what we had to play to get our ideal eye shape.

Photobucket

The streets of Kitty Land remind me of the cluttered, signboard-donned streets of Japan. Beautiful.

Photobucket

Use your body to activate the sensors as you avoid the traffic. Its like playing Nintendo Wii.. :P

Photobucket

5 seconds is given to memorise the picture and then spot the difference!

Photobucket

I had to go to the police station because I got the job of a policeman. We all got jobs as policemen except Ting who was a teacher.

Photobucket

Played a little treasure hunt to find the elusive “letter box” on our next location. The Batz-Maru playground.. Probably to arrest some little hooligans?

Photobucket

Then comes my favourite spot of all!!!!! The brightly lit cafe/bakery! To me, this was the epitome of cuteness… Everything here just screams girly girl.

Photobucket

The oh-so-real food makes me hungry. Really. But I don’t think I can bear to eat these if served up to me on a choco platter. :(

Photobucket

I huff and I puff and I BLOWWWWW the house down! *shuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu*

Photobucket

I wanted my Kitty to be a Scorpio just like me. Darn it!!!

Photobucket

In case you noticed in the previous photos that my KTA glows differently, the colour of her cheeks changes at each station. Pretty hur?

Photobucket

I had an awesome time with the girls playing retarded games, giggling like a teenaged schoolgirl and gushing at all the pretty structures (not forgetting to take photos of everything we gushed at).

Photobucket

Kudos to the designer who put so much details into everything like the bow ontop of the lamp post. Its amazing how everything is so specially crafted and all delicately put together only to be taken apart (and possibly thrown away) at the end of the tour.

Photobucket

My darling Melody with the more famous Sanrio’s Little Melody.

Photobucket

Little Miss Chatterbox me, cannot pass of the opportunity to try use the chioest phone booth ever!

Photobucket

Humongous cream cake!!!!! So white and pretty! ^^

Photobucket

Secondary school days till today and may we still have many more years to go!

Photobucket

All good things have to come to an end as we painfully depart this lovely place via the Nekosen Station – just like a subway tunnel.

Photobucket

We had to exit through a corridortrain service with fabfab names!

Photobucket

Cookie line was my favourite stop. I love cookies. Chocolate chip, Strawberry Jam, you name it, I want it! Lalala~

Photobucket

At the “last stop” we surrendered our KTAs and collected our own custom-built Kittys in the form of plastic cards! Our ID cards were printed with sparkly gold ink and had different backings. Lucky for me, mine was my favourite strawberry… ;) if you finish the whole run within 35 minutes, you would get a sheriff’s badge too!

Photobucket

This is my Kitty. Her favourite food is Xiao Long Baossss just like me! :)

Photobucket

Spent a long long long time at the exit as we were looking at some 35th anniversary memorabilia.

Photobucket

Everything was calling out to me… If only I was rich because they were all freaking expensive.

Photobucket

I managed to resist! Muahahaha! But some of the girls splurged…

Photobucket

All in all, I would say the exhibition was nice. Movie set nice. Expensive (and I probably would not visit again) but still nice. Its good to spoil yourself once in awhile especially with something so magical. :)

Photobucket

Left the girls to meet up with my grandmother for my favourite food!

Photobucket

Had some other yummy stuff too.. Like egg fried rice (DintaiFung does it the BEST) and drunken chicken.

Its 3am now… Time for bed. I have so many more entries coming up provided I don’t get all lazy again.

Sweet dreams all!

Leave a Reply

