A girly day out!!!

February 11, 2010

I know some of my girls who are going through tough times this festive season. Be it relationships, exams or financial woes. On many occassions there is this urge to reach out to help someone but more often than not, its the feeling of 心有余而力不足. My relationship is non-existant, exams are still a long while away and money, hmm, I am an adult living off my parents with a bank balance that is nearly in the red.

All I can give you is advise probably. But then again, I am not so good at that either.

But a listening ear (even if its just whinning – I am famous for overnight phone calls) some company to hit the shops and forget all your blues, I am your girl! :)

Anyway, who needs boys when you have sisters, a mother and girlfriends so silly I smile just by browsing through old pictures???

############

Massive picture log because Photobucket was going through maintenance this afternoon so I just kept editting… LOL.

GIRLFRIENDS

Photobucket

A loooong time ago, I met up with the Australia lovelies for movie, steamboat buffet, apple strudel, bubble tea and tons of bitching. Lovelovelove!!! Seeing you girls daily is the only motivation to go back to school. :P

STEAMBOAT

Photobucket

I absolutely adore steamboat buffets because somehow or another you just don’t feel fat after!!! :) add on my all-time favourite Xiao Long Baos and I am sold.

Although a tad more pricey than the steamboat houses along the usual Bugis stretch, the ambience, the airconditioning, the service, Holland Village Crystal Jade is the tops. ^^

Photobucket

Love their many many variations of beancurd… :) :) :)

Photobucket

As Xueqin and Fifi had regular working hours, the job of Cheeleng and I was to go early and get stuff cooking so by the time they arrived, food would be ready!!! That was not a problem because we fully intended to go early and stuff ourselves silly with Xiao Long Baos before the place got crowded and the standard dropped. Wakaka!!

Photobucket

Booby-sized baossss~

The downside was that there are 3 dinner sittings in 1 night, meaning once your sitting ended, you had to leave regardless of the time you arrived! Our time was from 5-8pm so it was really early to go home. Therefore, we proceeded to the nearby Essential Brews for a drink and catching up. :)

Photobucket

Back in the poly days, I loved sitting on the floor of this quaint little cafe. But I think we all aged!!!! After awhile, our bones started aching and we moved to proper seats instead. Haha.

Photobucket

I forgot the exact names of what we ordered but everything was tinged with tea which is really effective for removing oil after a heavy meal!

JB SHOPPING

Photobucket

One of the weekends, I sneaked off to Malaysia with Loti. Not really a good idea because I keep sensing disapproving eyes around… Oh wells, it was during the period where my Singapore dollars was running low and I had Malaysian ringgit to spare so we went on a food spree!

Photobucket

Everything there is HALF PRICE!!!!!

Photobucket

Shopped a little but did not buy much because its really just the food that is cheaper.

Photobucket

Even after liberally taking plates off the conveyor belt, my share of the bill came up to only SGD10. *happy*

Photobucket

Headed home straight after dinner just to be safe.

TEABREAKS

Mama’s fav fav fav time of the day – tea time! Shopping, reading, whatever she is doing, there is always time for tea. :) good that I love tea snacks too.

Photobucket

On one of our shopping trips, we decided to try out TWG at ION as Royal Copenhaagen did not have window seats left that afternoon.

Photobucket

The shop deco was awesome. Staff was super attentive to the extent of carrying my shopping bags and coming to me the instant there was eye contact….. Until I don’t really dare to look around. LOL.

Photobucket

The tea selection was HUGEEEE but they had a policy of at least one order per person. So its something like a semi cover charge or minimum spending. Flower tea (Sakura! Sakura!) was worth it because they put the whole flower in it and you can keep refilling the water. Unfortunately for me, my choice of Geisha Blossom was of the tea leaves variety and they did not give me the leaves so no refill. :(

Photobucket

Like the fat teapot though. :D reminds me of the Mrs. Potts in Beauty and the Beast.

Mrs. Potts and Chip Pictures, Images and Photos

Right right right??????????

Photobucket

I liked the English-English feel of the place… :)

Photobucket

I liked the mirrored reflections too!!!! :P

Photobucket

The classy tea set came in a pretty 3-tier tray. So atas! Hehe…

Photobucket

  • 3 fine finger sandwiches (Foie Gras, Chicken with Comptoir des Indes Tea infused creme fraiche and Cucumber with cream cheese infused with Earl Grey Fortune Tea)
  • 1 patisserie from the trolley
  • 3 tea-infused macaroons

The sandwiches (other than the Foie Gras) was so-so only, the patisserie was hard (yikes!) but the macaroons were good!!!! Not like the usual sugary ones I am used to…

Photobucket

Just last week, we headed to nearby Tampines One to stock up on my contact lens stuff and we won a $2 voucher because of some Chinese New Year promotion. Wanting to use it (in case we forget and it expires) we had tea-break at Bakerzin.

Photobucket

Strawberry shortcake is my all-time dessert first choice and caramel ranks pretty low on my list (don’t like it sticking to my teeth) but for some weird reason, I chose the caramel cheesecake that day. It turned out really good actually…

Photobucket

On another random day, Trixie had to go back to hostel so I tagged along to Jurong area (for Daiso!!!) and tea break AGAIN! How to not fat like that ah??? :(

HAIR MAINTENANCE

Photobucket

My stupid shampoo (Pantene) must have changed the formula resulting in my precious hair turning into an oily mess. Sticky even. :( complained to Mama, changed the whole range but the damage was done and it needed an oily scalp treatment to cure my condition. Mega zzzz!

Photobucket

I was not exactly hungry after the treatment but the set meals at Ajisen Ramen are oh-so-tempting I pigged out anyway. Haha..

Hair treatments always leave me feeling cheated because my hair becomes so mad soft for the next 2 days but at the very moment I wash it, its back to its rough, coarse self. :( so when I mentioned this concern to the head hair stylist, he emphasized the importance of REGULAR treament (which really means more money for them). Anyway, since Mama signed up some packages, we went back again the following week with Trixie in tow this time! :)

Photobucket

Soft soft hairs as we went for tea break (yeah, again!) at The Coffee Connoisseur (TCC). I think my hair looks better after the second therapy. There was even a slight shine and its sooooo soft the rubber band just slipped right off! ^^

Photobucket

We ordered our own drinks with a tea platter to share… The impressive looking dish really looks better than it tastes.

Photobucket

Head massage never fails to leave one in good spirits. :D

Photobucket

Playing with some photo app in Mama’s new iPhone. Should there be a day I ever get an iPhone, it will only be because of all the cutesy photo decoration apps. Haha..

SHOPPING SPREEEEE

After a heaty teabreak, I proceeded down to Little India to meet up with my girls for eyebrow threading! Been a while since I did that and boy did it hurt. The price of beauty. :(

Photobucket

Our next stop was Bugis followed by Orchard for shopping…

Photobucket

Dinner at Mos Burger as we cam-whored with some of our new purchases.

Photobucket

As the night drew to a close, we ended up at Heeren’s Xin Wang Hong Kong Cafe because it was the only one still open for watermelon ice and girl talk..

Photobucket

Oh oh oh!!! We bought Dollywink lashes after I got so curious about it from Geri’s blog. Cher and I shared a set of lower and upper lashes because its quite expensive at $23.90 each.

Will try it out on chu yi because only then can I justify spending so much on something I hardly wear. Pfft~ its cute what!? Look at the bimbotic cases we got just to store the lashes – pink, ribbons and polka dots! *loves*

Photobucket

Splashed out on accessories also… That is the problem with girls right? Pretty things all become must-haves. One of us got the attention-seeking “Hello Kitty Bow”. Guess who????

Photobucket

We look like we want to set up shop hor? Hahaha… Lelong lelong! 12 hairbands, countless bangles!!! Gosh!

Photobucket

The previous Monday where I went out with the same girls, we also ended up at Xin Wang but the Marina Square branch one. I like Xin Wang…. Food is nice and prices very affordable. Food court nowadays hitting $5-$7 sometimes, might as well eat in restaurants!

WENDY’S @ LAU PA SAT

Photobucket

Finally, I made it down to Wendy’s during Fifi’s lunch hour… The burger had unique square beef patties which is their signature. Thankfully the place was not so crowded when we arrived but later had long snaking queues typical of the Raffles Place lunch crowd.

Honestly, I expected better. :( finished only half my double patty burger and left so much fries. Waste food, no good, no good!

Later, Fi went back to work and legally jobless (we are students on holiday, we are supposed to lead bummer lives ma!) Cheeleng and I hit town for some last minute CNY finds. However, being there just the day before made shopping quite a bore. That on top of the fact that we are aging, our legs ached so bad we had to sit down like tai-tais. LOL.

Photobucket

Checked out Canelé Pâtisserie Chocolaterie at Shaw Centre where we spent the whole afternoon having girly chatter, sinful cakes and feasted our eyes on one fat baby. Heh. I think I will never tire of a carefree life like this! :)

Photobucket

Love this girl to bits. Other than when I cannot get her to wake up on time or when she forces me to eat carrots or drink ginseng, there is nothing about her that is not to love.

Well, that rounds up my past 2 weeks or so…. The places visited and the company I am in was just plain awesome. Can’t believe I will be leaving all these in 16 days. Time to grow up and get my ass back to reality.

That and I was kidding about the don’t need boys part earlier in this entry. Its healthy to have a balance ya?

Leave a Reply

