CNY 2010

February 25, 2010

This is so so outdated! Hahaha… The blogging bug seems to have left me as I am addicted to a new online game. To be honest, I am only here now because I cannot load my game. Argh!!!!

Photobucket

Cute photo courtesy of my sisters. :)

I helped baked the cookies though… Its for sale at Alisa’s funfair to raise $$$ for Haiti victims. :)

Anyway, I had a busy busy Chinese New Year (therefore really slow updates) and I hope everyone else had an awesome new year filled with good food, amazing company and alot alot of money!!! ^^

Photobucket

Had the usual steamboat reunion dinner with Daddy who surprised us by coming home a week earlier.

Photobucket

Had the typical “auspicious” food with Chinese meanings too complicated for me to remember… :)

Photobucket

Watched movies and did girly activities like decorating our nails while we 守夜 till 4am in the morning. This custom when observed by children supposedly gives longevity to their parents.

Photobucket

The next day we got up bright and early for house visiting! We were out by 10am for the few days of house visiting and that made me quite cranky. Moreover being squashed in the car as the outside temperature soared made me feel like I was in an oven. :( but the siblings made it better with all the jibes and tickles.

Photobucket

The first stop was my paternal grandmother’s house…. All the red ornaments she hung around really added festive cheer to her place.

Photobucket

The full set of Macdonald Doraemon collectibles!

Photobucket

All decked in new clothes… Yay for the love of shopping! :D

Photobucket

As usual, my grandmother will cook one of her specialities ranging from curry chicken to this year’s cooling gingko nut dessert.

Photobucket

After Ah Ma’s place, we headed down to our second stop, my grandfather’s brother. There we will wait for my maternal relatives before heading off to lunch together.

Photobucket

This year, we changed our annual vegetarian restaurant as the previous place upped their prices yet again. Would you pay $500 to eat flour and vegetables?? I sure wouldn’t… :(

So we tried this new place 八宝素食馆 (Ba Bao Vegetarian) next to the Buddha Tooth Relic Temple at Chinatown.

Photobucket

There was a huge mirror in front of us and for some reason, during photo-taking time, Trixie and myself found ourselves looking at the wrong place. Haha.

Photobucket

Favourite part of each meal… We each take turns to say something good. This usually stumps me as my grasp of Chinese idioms is pretty much of a primary school level. But Brian is the max!!!! He doesn’t even try and just goes “ehhh, whatever the last person just said”. -_-”

Photobucket

Somehow, they make vegetarian food look good for a non-vegetable eater, me.

Photobucket

But somehow, I still don’t think its worth to pay hundreds of dollars for non-meaty stuff. :X

Photobucket

The streets were desserted on this public holiday so the New Moon umbrellas really stood out. :P

After lunch, we had more visiting till it was time for dinner… Earning money this way is super exhausting.

Photobucket

Ooooh! My new dream car, the BMW Joy. :) daddy promised me a car should I pass my driving test. Its been a year and my car still only lives in my dreams. Pooey~

Building castles in the air makes one hungry… Dinner was at Grand Mercure Hotel.

Photobucket

Tried out Jia Wei Restaurant because of the famed Master Chef Lee Tuck Seng. Food was nice but because we ordered à la carte when practically everyone else in the full house restaurant took the CNY set meal, there were alot of confusion and mighty slow service. BOOOOO! :(

Photobucket

The restaurant looked good… Posh but with a homely touch, food was good, prices a tad expensive but service was down in the dumps.

Photobucket

To entertain ourselves while waiting for the food (nearly half an hour between each course) the young ones attempted to use our chopsticks to grasp the round dried fruit. It seems easy but no one succeeded.

Photobucket

Except Brian after about 10 minutes of struggle! Look at his comical, arrogant face! Lol.

Photobucket

We ended up cancelling the rest of the dishes because it sucks to have been waiting for more than 2 hours. :(

Photobucket

The desserts were good though. I tried the fried durian ice-cream which was really fragrant but Trix felt cheated because her $8 tang yuan consisted of only ONE glutinous ball. :P

Photobucket

Day 2 was more visiting… Because we kind of went to visit friends of our parents and distant relatives, we racked in the angbaos but all the small talk and rushing from stop to stop was tiring.

Photobucket

Our new clothes looked cute though. :D

Photobucket

Spent the longest time at Por por’s place as all the distant relatives congregated there for catered buffet lunch. The past 2 years saw many older cousins getting hitched so this year the red packets from this stop alone hit new highs but the greater draw was the new additions to the family. :)

Photobucket

Awwwwww~ this baby will grow up to be a heartbreaker!

Photobucket

Alisa: “He is in love with me… Only he hasn’t realised it yet.”

Hahahahahaha!!!!!! It was amusing to see Alisa run after baby Eekean and the young girls fawn of over Hannah Montana (Geraldine). After she left, they chased my brother calling him Zac Efron. *oh pleaseeeee* I bet he was secretly pleased though..

Photobucket

Pretty Valentine’s Day decoration at the airport. ^^ went to the airport as every other eating place was closed for the new year.

Photobucket

Had steamboat again!!! Korean style as everywhere else was full. :(

Photobucket

That rounds up my first 2 days of the long holidays! :)

##########

10 minutes ago,

Brian: Ahhhh! My toilet have the biggest cockroach in cockroach history!!!!!
(I run to his toilet and sees a tiny cockroach)

Men’s lack of balls makes me laugh. :P

AND MY GAME STILL ISN’T LOADING!!!  *sobs*

Leave a Reply

