My boyfriend turns 23

August 18, 2010

One year has passed. And I am doing this again.

Last year (read it here), I baked a cuppycake, counted down with him, sang him a birthday song, blew the candle out for him and at the same time made a wish for him. Secretly.

I wished that 19 August the following year, he would be counting down, singing songs and blowing candles with his girlfriend. I promised (and cried bucketloads of tears at the same time) that I would wish him well and that I could eventually move on once I knew he was well taken care of.

I swore upon all the deities up there that I would not re-enter the cycle. I would never bake him another cake or drop another tear. Everything would end with him starting a new year.

This year, I am the girlfriend. The one I prayed he would find last year. What a strange twist in events. So to complete the wish made 365 days ago, the cuppycakes are baked, decorated and waiting for him to come home.

Photobucket

They are not very pretty.

I blame my indecisiveness for letting this drag so long it became a habit. I blame my moment of weakness for not asking why he took me back, perhaps I was worried his answer was not one I wanted to hear. And I can only hope with every fibre of my being, that I will not hurt, again.

Sigh, today has just been a lousy day.

Leave a Reply

